St. Patty’s Day Shamrock Sugar Cookies

Guess what? I decided writing recipes wasn’t so bad. I kind of enjoy it. Let’s say really enjoy it instead though. It took me awhile to post for this week, but I have a new recipe and it’s St. Patty’s Day themed. This is gold star material here.

shamrockcookies2

I was in the process of finishing up some final touches on the royal icing yesterday morning and then I realized how quiet it was in the kitchen. This is never a good sign when you have a toddler in the same room as you. Trust me. So, I drop everything and turn around. Lucian was head-to-toe in leaf green gel paste color. He had his little finger jammed inside the bottle’s hole. It was on his forehead, lips, fingers, and everywhere else. My child, who hates anything on him, looks like a leprechaun. I scrubbed everything and he was still a tint of green. He cried for at least an hour because he couldn’t get the green off his hand.

I finally got him settled down, and my sweet-toothed husband came strolling in for lunch. The look of disappointment that he had on his face when he saw I was still working on the cookies was sad. So, I gave him and let him eat one. This would be the third one he coaxed out of me.  He’s spoiled.

Story time is over.

This dough isn’t real sticky. I had to make it so I could do everything in one shot. As I said in an earlier post, I just don’t have enough time in the day to sit the dough in the fridge after every step. I probably have the time, just not the patients.

newsugarcookiedoughAs you can see, it’s a nice firm ball. I threw half of the dough between two pieces of parchment paper and rolled it out. I, then, cut them out and placed them on a cookie sheet lined with a silicone mat. cuteoutcookiesHere they are freezer bound. I left them in the freezer for a couple hours. Baked them and voila!

cookiesshammySugar Cookies

1 1/2 c. salted butter, room temperature
1 3/4 c. granulated sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
4 c. All-Purpose Flour

  1. In the stand mixer, briefly mix the butter and sugar. Just as the butter and sugar come together, stop mixing. (The more the sugar and butter is creamed the fluffier the cookie will be.) Scrape down the sides.
  2. Add the egg and vanilla. Turn the mixer on medium and mix until the egg is completely incorporated.
  3. Lastly, add all the flour. You can either put a towel over your mixer until everything is incorporated or start out on the stirring setting of the mixer until the flour started to incorporated. Once the flour is mixed in some, go ahead and turn the mixer on medium and let it mix until the flour is combined with the creamed mixture.
  4. Cut the dough in half and roll one half between two pieces of parchment paper. Take the top piece of parchment paper off and cut the cookies with preferred cutters.
  5. Place on cookie tray with either a silicon mat or parchment paper. (I cut all my cookies out and stacked them on the cookie sheet. I used parchment paper to separate the cookies)
  6. Place in the freezer for at least an hour.
  7. *Preheat your oven 350 and bake 10-12 minutes or until it’s done. The bottoms of the cookie and sides will start to brown. That’s a sure sign they’re done.
  8. Let the cookies cool and ice.

*Since my shamrock cutter is humongous and I like my cookies pretty thick I baked my cookies at 325 for 18-20 minutes.

shamrockcookies

The royal icing recipe can be found at sweetopia.net. I used the Americolor’s gel paste food color’s leaf green and electric green for the shamrocks. I also thinned the icing with water and flooded my cookies.

Leave a Reply

